Eurofusion Consortium Agreement


The EUROfusion consortium agreement was signed by 30 research organisations and universities from 25 European Union countries, as well as Switzerland, Ukraine and the United Kingdom. [2] 30 research institutes and universities from 26 EU Member States, as well as Switzerland and Ukraine, have signed the EUROfusion consortium agreement. In addition, more than 100 third parties contribute to research activities through consortium members. EUROfusion`s mission is to pave the way for fusion reactors. To this end, the consortium supports the research of its 30 members on the basis of the „European Roadmap for the realisation of fusion energy“ as a joint programme within the framework of Euratom Horizon 2020. Discover the structure of the EUROfusion consortium. The creation of the EUROfusion consortium should enable Europe to work effectively towards the objectives of the Roadmap. It replaces the EFDA Agreement and the 29 separate bilateral association agreements related to it between the EC and research institutes. These 29 partners are now united in a single, more integrated consortium. On 9 October 2014, fusion research organisations from the Member States of the European Union and Switzerland signed an agreement to strengthen European cooperation in the field of fusion research and EUROfusion, the European Consortium for the Development of Fusion Energy. EUROfusion supports and finances fusion research activities on behalf of the European Commission`s Euratom programme. After months of preparation, the European Consortium for the Development of Fusion Energy (already better known by its acronym: EUROfusion) is finally fully established.

The signing of the grant agreement between the European Commission (EC) and EUROfusion today in Brussels marks an important step in Europe`s drive to develop fusion energy as a sustainable energy source. EUROfusion is a consortium of national fusion research institutes in the European Union, Switzerland and Ukraine. It was created in 2014 to succeed the European Fusion Development Agreement (EFDA) as the umbrella organisation of European fusion research laboratories. The consortium is currently funded by the Euratom Horizon 2020 programme. [1] This contract between the Commission and EUROfusion provides funding of €424 million under the EU`s Horizon 2020 2014-2018 programme and the same amount from Member States. The consortium has established a five-year framework programme, with a total budget of €850 million, to follow the agreed roadmap. The Programme is funded by the Euratom/Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation Programme under Grant Agreement No 633053. The EUROfusion consortium is composed of 30 national fusion laboratories. The Austrian partner is the Austrian Academy of Sciences (Fusion@ÖAW).

The 30 members of the EUROfusion consortium agreement are available on this map. Thirty members representing 26 Member States of the European Union as well as Switzerland and Ukraine signed the EUROfusion consortium agreement. This is the magic number of the grant agreement signed today in Brussels between the European Commission and EUROfusion. The slogan of the newly created consortium: to put the merger current online by 2050! The European roadmap for the realisation of fusion energy divides fusion energy research into eight missions. How to quickly extinguish out-of-control electrons in a fusion plasma? Broken hydrogen ice granules may contain the answer….